Hassocks Parish Council

Hassocks Parish Council was formed in 2000 by the amalgamation of the then separate Clayton and Keymer Parish Councils.

It operates from the Parish Centre in the Adastra Park, Hassocks.

The Council consists of a Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Councillors who also serve on the Council committees, working groups and who also represent the Council on outside bodies.

There are fifteen Councillors on the Council. Details of the current councillors can be found on the Councillors page.

The Parish Centre is staffed by a Clerk to the Council and two assistants. They support the councillors and provide information and guidance to the public. The Council also employs a Groundsman.

The Council meets regularly and currently has four sub-committees, and two working groups.

The committees are Environment; Grounds; Planning; and Policy, Resources and Communications.

All meetings are held in the Council Chamber in the Parish Centre, Adastra Park, at 19:30 unless otherwise notified. Members of the public are welcome to attend.
For details of meetings please see the Meetings page.

Each year the Council raises a precept to cover its expenses. This precept forms part of the overall Council Tax bill. The current precept figure together with historical figures can be seen on the Precept page.

Council office 2

Quality parish councilHassocks Parish Council has been a Quality Parish Council since 2007.
To achieve Quality Status a council has to demonstrate to an independent accreditation panel that it is effectively and properly managed, is representative of and actively engages with its community and has the ability and capacity to take on a wider range of activities and responsibilities.
Quality Parish councils can apply for special government grants and take over responsibility for some activities from District and County councils, so they can provide a better level of service for local residents. Hassocks is already part of a cluster with Hurstpierpoint, Cuckfield and Burgess Hill, carrying out some highway functions on behalf of West Sussex County Council, and it is hoped to extend this to some activities currently done by Mid Sussex District Council.

The next Hassocks Parish Council elections will be held in 2015. Between elections, any casual vacancies are filled by election or co-option. If you think you might like to become a Parish Councillor please call in to the Parish Centre to learn more about what’s involved.